Culinary safety standards on superyachts

Yvette van Zyl looks at the MCA approved Food Safety qualifications on offer for international yacht crew

Baobab Development Solutions (BDS) is an internationally accredited Hospitality Training Provider based in Cape Town, South Africa. BDS specialises in skills development courses within the hospitality sector as well as the yachting industry.

Courses included in this portfolio are:

  1. Food & Beverage Skills Proficiency (Waiter Training)
  2. Housekeeping Skills Proficiency (Housekeeper Training)
  3. Highfield Awarding Body for Compliance Food Safety in Catering Level 2 (RQF)
  4. Highfield Awarding Body for Compliance Food Safety in Catering Level 3 (RQF)
  5. Highfield Awarding Body for Compliance Food Safety in Catering Refresher
  6. Highfield Level 2 Certificate in Hospitality and Catering Principles (Food and Beverage Service) (RQF)

The Food Safety Certificates ensures that those with responsibility for and involved in service of catering are trained therein and have adequate knowledge of food and personal hygiene to ensure that food is stored, stock rotated, handled, cooked and served safely and that good food safety practice is applied consistently.

The difference between the different Levels of Food Safety in Catering qualifications are as follows:

The Level 1 is an introductory course intended for people who work in low-risk catering establishments or an informal catering business.

The Level 2 is the minimum legal standard required by food authorities which all food handlers should obtain in order to safely work in a formal catering business whether they are part of the delivery, storage, safe handling, storage, preparation, production or service of any food items.

The Level 3 is intended for the supervisory level within the kitchen/galley brigade who will be responsible to report and record Food Safety Management practices and procedures.

The Level 4 is intended for those whose job requires them to have responsibility for food safety within the formal catering business. They are likely to have management responsibilities for the operational team.

The reason Food Safety Level 2 is a requirement for interior crew aboard a vessel
It is a legal requirement. A lot of yachts fall under the Red Instant Flags and is governed by the Maritime and Coastguard Agency (MCA) and as such must ensure safe food management aboard vessels.

As Stewards/esses you carry food to and from the galley, you do certain small food preparation, you are involved in stocking fridges as well as the service and preparation of guest food. It is imperative that you understand the risks involved and the importance of your role in the process to provide safe food to guests.

Chefs can follow food management safety protocols to the letter, but the possible lack of knowledge of some interior crew can completely nullify all efforts and put guests as well as crew’s safety in jeopardy.

MCA accepted Food Safety Training Providers and Qualifications together within online courses
The MCA sets out approved training providers and qualifications and accepts certain Food Safety Online training through the approved training providers. These providers can prove suitable controls to uphold the integrity of the qualifications which ensures it remains regulated. One should remember, NOT all online Food Safety Courses are approved by MCA and it remains the student’s due diligence when choosing training providers.

BDS worked tirelessly during the COVID19 pandemic onset to ensure that our Highfield e-learning qualifications were approved by the MCA from delivery to quality assurance. We integrate e-learning with personal contact throughout the process to ensure that the student receives the best possible training.

For more details
Tel: +27 79 577 2042
or visit